The Adventure Begins

Well, here I go. Just a little girl from Arkansas going to explore the big world and unfamiliar places for five whole weeks. Who would have ever thought?! I sure will miss my family and I am so grateful to them for allowing me to have this experience. I love you momma, daddy, SJ, and Tucker bud. And what an awesome surprise I got when walking into the airport — thank you for being such sweet friends who are more like family Reiner’s and Dorsey’s. So we made our flight on time (after accidentally trying to get on the wrong plane at the wrong gate of course) but we made it! I couldn’t be more excited and shocked at the same time that this is really happening. Of course, with all the excitement comes nerves but already having sweet travel friends sure helps! (shoutout to Sophia and Rachel). Today we explored Venice, ate some pizza and Gelato of course, and eventually got used to the pigeons joining us for dinner. When looking at our dinner menus we were not sure what to order because we thought there were so many ingredients in each pizza but really, the words were just translated into different languages…rookie mistake…but hey give us a break we have been awake for over 24 hours now. After eating we walked around the quaint little town built on water. While walking around this nice Italian man with roses handed us all roses that he said were free. Boy, did he lie, we walked away and he chased us asking for a tip…hint: don’t believe the man when he says “free.” Speaking of free, in some places you have to pay to use the restroom which is very different! Other than a few expected mishaps we are really getting this Italian stuff, we even figured out the confusing bus system! It’s such a beautiful place! emily on bridge in venice .JPGgelato in veniceclothes hanging on line in venicerachel, sophia, emily at xna to venicepizza in venice

Tomorrow we venture to Paderno Del Grappa, a little town North of Venice that we will call home for the next few weeks. We will have class 4 days a week and the weeks to travel. After 4 weeks of classes I will be traveling with two other girls that are in my program. I cannot wait for all that is ahead because I know it will be an adventure of a lifetime!!! I will try my best to keep this blog updated so keep following more more to come! Ciao for now!

Leave a comment